What is the FSSAI exam? Can B.Tech Students write the FSSAI exam?

FSSAI is a department of food safety that was established by the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare Government of India. FSSAI is built under the food safety and standards act 2006 (FSS Act).

This Government entity looks after all the food businesses in India and checks if they follow the regulation of the government or not. The main duty of FSSAI is to ensure about quality of food standards and hygiene is as per specified industry standards. Let’s look for out for the detail FSSAI standards in order to apply for FSSAI recruitment.

Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI)

FSSAI is mainly responsible for registration and licensing FBO, food, and other businesses related to the food industry. FSSAI promotes and protects public health through supervision of Food safety. It controls rules and regulations for the food industry.

The food safety and standards Act (FSS), 2006 is the primary law for the regulation of food products. The FSSAI appoints food safety authorities on the state level, who perform tasks as food safety officers in various states.

FSSAI is regulated by the ministry of health and family welfare. The main aim of FSSAI is to regulate the storage, distribution, supplies, demand, import, and sale of food. This organisation also lays down science-based standards for articles on food. They also facilitate the safety of food.

FSSAI issues three types of licenses. Which is based on the nature of food businesses and turnover. It evaluates businesses upon their location, number of retail stores, supplies and demand.

  1. Registration
  2. State license
  3. Central license

It provides registration licensing for business with less than Rs. 12 lakhs. Also, issue state license for turnover between 12-20 lakh and central license for turnover above 20 cr.

The headquarters are located at New Delhi. And it has 6 regional offices located in Delhi, Guwahati, Mumbai, Kolkata, Cochin, and Chennai. There are 14 referral laboratories notified by FSSAI.

Ministry of health & family welfare, Government of India is the administrative ministry of India that gives all authorities and powers under the FSS Act 2006.

FSSAI provides scientific and technical support to the central government. Developing international technical standards in food. It is collecting data regarding food consumption, and emerging risks. It is further responsible for the prevention of food risk.

FSSAI act holds 7 older acts under itself, which are given below: – 

  • Prevention of food adulteration
  • Fruit products order,1955
  • Meat products order,1973
  • Vegetable oil product (control) order, 1947
  • Edible oils packaging (Regulation) order ,1988
  • Solvent Extracted Oil, De-oil meal and edible Flour order, 1967
  • Milk and milk products order,1992

With the goal of benefitting industries involved in handling, packaging, manufacturing and selling of food products, FSSAI decided to issue perpetual licenses to restaurants and food manufacturing units on the condition that they have to file their returns every year.

There are various departments who work under the discipline of FSSAI are Import Division, Regulatory compliance division, Risk assessment and R&D division (RARD), Information Education Communication, Regulation and Codex Division, HR, Standards division and IT, etc.

If you have done B.tech in trades like mechanical, civil engineering, Architecture, Computer etc. you are not directly eligible to apply for any of the FSSAI exam.

Food research or a degree relevant to food, animals, and plants is mandatory if you want to become an FSSAI authority.

FSSAI Eligibility: –

We have discussed below about what are the qualifications you must have to appear in the FSSAI exam test.

BE or BTECH in Food Technology, Dairy Technology, Biotechnology, Oil Technology, Food Process Engineering, Fruit & Vegetables Technology or Bachelor’s degree (4 years) in Medicine, Veterinary Science, Animal Science, Fisheries.

Desirable qualification-PhD in any of aforesaid subjects.

  • BSC and MSC compulsory
  • Five years relevant experience

Desirable: GATE (Graduate aptitude test in engineering) or CSIR (Council of scientific and industrial research) or ICAR (Indian culture of agricultural research). At least one eligibility test you should have qualified to appear in the FSSAI exam from aforesaid three.

Leave a Comment