Details Overview on Rajiv Gandhi Rural Housing Corporation Limited

Rajiv Gandhi Housing Corporation Limited is a Karnataka Enterprise Government initiative introduced in 2000 to sponsor housing schemes for economically and socially backward classes of the state. The primary purpose behind RGRHCL is to promote affordable building technologies in rural Karnataka. The authority prepares a beneficiary list of the eligible households after approving it from the local Gram Sabha. Further, it helps the approved beneficiaries via Nirmithi Kendras to disseminate the latest information on cost-effective technologies.

Objectives of RGRHCL

Rajiv Gandhi Rural Housing Corporation Limited serves three purposes. They are-

  • Offering affordable housing for economically weaker class
  • Promoting eco-friendly and low-cost building technologies to ensure the growth of EWS through Nirmithi Kendras
  • Maintaining transparency and efficiency of the management through digital means

Furthermore, RGRHCL rolls out cost-effective housing schemes to accommodate diverse categories of the EWS.

Types of housing schemes

Basava Vasati Yojana

  • Under this scheme, the authority provides houses to homeless and economically weaker citizens of Karnataka.
  • The Karnataka government extends up to 85% of the total construction material under this scheme.

Devraj URS Housing Scheme

This scheme assists people of particular categories in house construction. The beneficiary list includes-

  • Households cured from leprosy
  • HIV positive individuals
  • Nomadic tribes
  • Widows
  • Disabled citizens
  • Citizens affected by exploitation and riots
  • Transgender
  • Sanitation workers
  • Free bonded labourers

Ashraya Housing Scheme

  • Introduced in 2002, the Ashraya housing scheme is an integrated initiative to recognize and rehabilitate the poor households of Karnataka.
  • It identifies individuals who are not benefited from the decentralized poverty alleviation programmes organized by the State Government.
  • Gram Panchayat block, district panchayat, and the State and Central Government finance RGRHCL scheme.
  • Gram Panchayat can devise personalized micro-project for the village households.

Dr. BR Ambedkar Niwas Yojana

  • It serves the reserved categories, including Scheduled Caste (SC) and Scheduled Tribes (ST) communities.
  • Karnataka Government extends a subsidy of Rs. 1.75 lakh to help individuals build houses, under this scheme.

Alongside the types of schemes, one should learn about its eligibility and documentation as well.

Eligibility criteria of RGRHCL housing schemes

Karnataka’s District Committee goes through the below list of eligibility parameters one needs to fulfill. The list includes-

  • Only women, retired soldiers, disabled individuals, senior citizens and widowers are eligible
  • Applicant’s annual income o should be less than Rs.32,000
  • Applicants should not own any house or plot within the state
  • Individuals of demolished houses or huts are eligible
  • Applicants with lands or sites under their holding can apply
  • Beneficiaries of other housing schemes are not eligible

Documents required for RGRHCL housing schemes

Individuals who qualify for these eligibility criteria need to submit a few documents while applying for the scheme.

  • Aadhar card
  • Voter card
  • PAN card
  • Proof of income
  • Bank details
  • Passport-size photographs
  • Caste certificate (only applicable for SCs and STs)

Alongside being aware of the eligibility and documentation of this housing scheme, individuals should learn the application process as well.

Application process of RGRHCL housing schemes

Individuals need to follow the below-mentioned steps to apply for RGRHCL housing schemes.

Step 1: Visit Rajiv Gandhi Rural Housing Corporation Limited’s official website

Step 2: Click on the online application link

Step 3: Fill up the form with the necessary and accurate information

Step 4: Upload the necessary documents

Step 5: Verify the details and click on the ‘Submit’ option

Now, individuals who have already applied for the scheme can check the RGRHCL status on the official website.

How to check the RGRHCL beneficiary list online?

  1. Visit the Ashraya portal
  2. Click on ‘Beneficiary Information’ on the front tab
  3. Select ‘District’ name from the dropdown
  4. Enter ‘F Number’
  5. Click on ‘Submit’

The beneficiary list will display on the screen.

Individuals qualified for RGRHCL housing schemes can apply for a housing loan to fasten the construction process of their houses.

Leading financiers extend pre-approved offers to streamline the loan availing process. Financial institutions also extend these offers on products like loans against property and others. To check the pre-approved offers applicant’s name and contact details are required.

In India, several HFCs extend different types of home loans to cater to diverse requirements of their applicants. Nonetheless, applicants must determine certain factors like eligibility criteria, documents required etc., application procedure to ensure a hassle-free experience. They can use an online home loan eligibility calculator to check if they qualify or not.

Every year, the gram panchayats in Karnataka revises the beneficiary list and renews it in the first week of January, making it a suitable time to apply for the RGRHCL housing schemes.

Leave a Comment